Queen Yuna’s Finale

289fp6g

It’s here it’s here it’s finally here!!!

The long-awaited — and trust me, I’ve been going bonkers trying to hold in my excitement and nervousness and just all-around sheer madness-filled joy the last 3 months — Ladies’ Figure Skating event of the 2014 Olympics is finally here!

The field is STACKED this year, and I hope everyone gives the performances of their lives.  But my heart resides with reigning Olympic Champion and reigning World Champion Yuna Kim of South Korea, who set record-breaking scores in Vancouver in 2010 with flawless, awe-inducing performances that are considered 2 of the greatest skates of all time.  She has said these are her last Olympics – and last competitive skates – of her career, and it breaks my heart that we will no longer be able to enjoy her artistry and athleticism and just pure grace.  But.  She came back from retirement just so her hoobaes (juniors) could experience the Olympics, so if she feels she’s ready to hang up her competitive skates, then I fully respect her decision.

Queen Yuna at 2010 Olympics:

I had the great joy of watching her skate in 2009 at the World Championships in Los Angeles, where she won her first World title and became the first woman to break the 200-point mark with the new judging system.  It still feels like a dream… though I was sitting up in the nosebleeds and only got to see the short program, lemme tell ya, it’s not an experience I’ll ever forget.  If I had my way, I’d be on a plane to Sochi right now!  But I’ll just have to content myself with watching her on TV tomorrow morning.  The ladies’ short program will begin at 7pm (Sochi time) Wednesday, February 19, and the free skate on Thursday, February 20 (also at 7pm local time).  For seriously, Patch Friends, it’s gonna be amazing.

At 2009 World Championships:

Her comeback at 2013 World Championships:

And last but certainly not least, the absolutely gorgeous short program that will be on display in 19 hours (this performance was from the 2014 Korean Nationals):

Dearest Queen Yuna, thank you for all the wonderful memories.  You will be dearly missed.

yunakim_0001

3 responses to “Queen Yuna’s Finale

  1. Million thanks pinkblossom for asking @semifly for the link. Was dying to watch but no access. Loved figure skating and Yuna! ❤

    • simplesim!!!! yeee long time no seeee!! 😀 😀 😀 sososoo glad you’re still gardening with us!!!
      my heart was broooken – and it still kinda hurts – but i’m so happy for her, and she had 2 beauuutiful performances, and everyone acknowledges that SHE is the queen. gah getting teary just thinking about it! ^^
      how have you been?? watching anything funfuun these days?? 🙂 🙂

Share your thoughts!

