Quick Hello

I really, REALLY shouldn’t be online right now.  Really.  For realsies.

But I’ve missed you all terribly, and for once I want to think about something other than the metabolism of fats and carbs and proteins, and I want to write about something other than familial hypertriglyceridemia and the endocrine system – though they’re all very important, of course. 😉

At the end of the summer of 2013, whitecarrot and I debated whether we should shut down our little Patch.  We were both headed to new places and starting new chapters of our lives that would quite simply consume our waking – and sleeping! – hours.  We knew we wouldn’t be able to post regularly, much less full-on recap the shows we so love.  Was it worth having our Patch still going?  Was it meaningful without the regular interaction with you lovely Patch Friends?  After much thought, we decided to let things continue for the time being… and see where things led.

Even now, I don’t know how I feel about our decision.  I love the fact that we still have a place to come share our thoughts every once in a blue moon when the stars align and we’re somehow granted a few hours to think and write.  But on the other hand, I feel very guilty for not being able to respond regularly to the lovely comments left by the few who still visit our blog.  And I feel a pang of sadness when I manage to read a post or two and want sososooo bad to jump right into the conversation but just don’t have the time to do so.

Anyhoo.  Enough of the doldrums.  First and foremost, I just wanted to say THANK YOU to our lovely Patch Friends who continue to visit our little garden and leave fun, thoughtful, sweet, and ultimately inspiring (yes, you all keep me going!) notes and comments.  You are very much loved!  Second: I miss you all!

Third: THANK YOUUUU, misscupcakees (check out her AWESOME blog here!), for the sweetsweetsweeet Liebster Nomination.  Despite our inactivity the past year, you so kindly remembered and nominated us, and for that we are forever grateful and honored.  Whitecarrot and I will try to post a response as soon as we can! ❤ ❤ ❤

Fourth: I may only be watching snippets of dramas (thank GOODNESS for Youtube and the K-broadcasting companies’ use of it – FINALLY!), but I am still keeping tabs on most of my shows!  And so.  A quick rundown of random thoughts as of Monday, February 3, 2014:

KBS

Wang Family: I gave up on you long ago, and it doesn’t look like you’ve gotten any better.  Adios.

Dear KBS, please do a better job of Youtube-ing.  Thank you.

 

MBC

수백향_007The King’s Daughter Soo Baek Hyang: Gah.  I knew things were headed down the path of epically tragic love, but THIS is just… GAH.  Poor Prince Myung-nong and Seol-nan.  And sad panda news: They’re cutting the show early because of low ratings.  Nooooo!  The last episode will air March 7 (it’ll end with 110 episodes instead of 120).

Shining Romance: I’m SO excited for the official romance to begin!  I got suckered in again by cutie Park Yoon-jae (he’s Chae Rim’s younger brother in real life!), and I am loooving the MBC Youtube channel clips.

Empress Ki: Thank goodness for MBC’s Youtube channel.  I can watch the few minutes of story progress and get on with my day.  Poor baby Ta-hwan.  It’s okay, I’M here waiting with open arms.

Miss Korea: Uh, I think I know why your ratings aren’t going anywhere.  The few supposedly ‘exciting’ clips were… boring.

Golden Rainbow: Can Lee Jae-yoon just get the girl for once?  I have no idea what is happening in this drama, but the 2 clips I saw were of him crying, and I disapprove.

 

SBS

별그대11_001You from Another Star: Do Min-joon, you are one big fat heartbreaker.  And gullible, too.  Hee!

One Warm Word: SO.  GOOD.  STILL!!!  Even as we near the end (it ends next weeeek! nooooooooo), it’s STILL amazing.  My love for it fizzled a bit for 1 or 2 episodes, but man oh man did things crank back up the last 2 weeks.  I really REALLY think we might get a wonderfully beautiful ending.  And ohmygosh I just BAWLED when I read the “Warm Word” submission from today’s Episode 17 (at the end of each episode, they share a message viewers wish to share with their loved ones):

You persevered through all of those difficulties, fighting your illness at such a young age.  The last time you wrapped your arms around me from behind and said, “I love you, Noona” – those warm words still resonate in my ears.  The promise I made to you that I would live a full life for both of us – I will keep my word.  I love you, my dongsaeng.

*sobs*

 

tvN

로필3_0003I Need Romance 3: I just… I just can’t handle this show.  I’ve been burned one too many times by this franchise, and after watching the preview for tomorrow’s Episode 8…  milaiski, we need to hold hands.

Emergency Couple: I had high expectations for this one, and it isn’t bad or anything… it just… is missing something.  I’m not quite sure what… though I do roll my eyes during some of the medical stuff LOL.  Seriously, they were screaming and talking to each other when the poor man needed a tracheotomy stat?!  I am excited for Gary’s cameo – Monday couple for the win!image_readtop_2014_180593_13914911601200697

 

JTBC

20140127000914_0Can We Love?: I read a very interesting article that I think really perfectly described INR3 and Can We Love: the former is a fairy tale (no matter how much they claim to be ‘real’ with all their kissing and making out), and the latter is the real deal.  Of course, the likelihood that all the characters would be so intertwined is highly unlikely, but it’s really quite… realistic.  I have no better word.  And gosh darned it is it ADDICTING.  If you’re looking for a show to watch, check this one out.  Seriously.  I am in luuuurve with Kim Sung-soo sososo bad it ain’t even funny.  Monday-Tuesdays are for seriously the best.

*fans self*

*fans self*

 

Miss you ALL!!!

27 responses to “Quick Hello

  1. Awwww… NOOOOOOOO!!!! No shutting down of patch! Jebal!!! Eventho you and whitecarrot posts your thoughts once in a while, it’s nice to know that the patch is there where we can revisit awesome recaps and pov. Also, having the patch alive allow me to hope that you both will still be posting articles and recaps. I loooovvvveeee our garden so please…

    Anyhow, I agree with your thoughts with WF and TKDSBH. I stop watching them ages ago. But for the other dramas, I do watch them but not religiously. Cham, did you notice the Ji Hyun’s face after the kissing scene in the elevator? Seriously, I think her skin got irritated with Do Hyeon’s beard. It’s all red. Or did I just got it wrong and it turned out red with all the action? Lol

    • awwww we wouldn’t be here without you, `Eun!! <33
      i TOTES never noticed ji-hyun’s beard rash until you mentioned it! heheheeeeee!!!! i SO want them to get together sososooo bad!!!

  2. You guys should totallyyyyyy keep it alive, even if you’re on a long-term hiatus. Too many lovely posts to shamefully just disappear! Andddd like you pointed out, it’s a place you two can return to every once in awhile, which is nice and sweet and comforting 🙂

    • thank youuu, jandooooooeee <33 i saw your post a little while back about losing followers and whatnot, but i didn’t get a chance to comment — just wanted to say HWAEEEETING to you, tooooo!!! just keep writing what you love to write — we are always here rooting you on! 😀

  3. I third ‘Eun and jan! Don’t shut it down. We get notified when the stars DO align and you post, which is great. I’d rather have you show up in the blogosphere on a patchy (hur) basis than not at all, so don’t go, chingu!!!

    And the other point makes perfect sense too. All your existing posts will help viewers who are only just now checking out the shows. Not everyone watches the shows when they first air, after all.

    Lastly, I MISS YOU TOOOO~~~ I was super stoked to see that you’d posted. YAY that you didn’t forget about us. We understand that RL is super hectic. We still love you ❤❤❤

    • oh kfangurl, what would i ever do without youuu <333
      thankyouthankyouuu for your love and support aaalways. words can’t do my feelings justice! -___-;; miss you muchos

  4. Wow, thank you for the mention hahah! Anyway, you should not shut down your blog guys!!! Even if you just post “Open Forum: State your thought about this drama XXX”, I’d still visit and comment! haha! 🙂 That’s how we love you!

    Moving to the drama talk, as much as I’d live You from another Star, I want the story to progress. I also can’t help but be sad that the conflict has been largely about who killed Yura! Huhu. I wish they’d put more weight on how they plan to reveal Min Joon’s identity.

    INR 3 is breaking my hear further. My wish for Nam Goog-min and Kim So-yeon love line has probably gone to the heavens.

    • thank youuu, milaiski!! <33 we love you, tooooo!
      i’ve gotta agree, kim soo-hyun and jeon ji-hyun are cute (not feelin’ the passionate love so much), but the story has been going in circles for weeks. i don’t even tune in for the whole ep these days xD
      i have officially dumped the leads and am watching INR3 for our preggers lady + mr. earnest glasses!! ^^ heeeee!

  5. Awwww, thanks for the shout out! But please down shut down the Patch! All your hard work will go to waste! Just let it be and come back to it every now and then.

    Real life is a huge bummer at times but you have to do what you do. Regardless of your decision I will fully support you guys! (: Just don’t take things too hard on yourself.

    &&good luck to both of you on wherever life leads you! Just do whatever you feel is best for both of you.

    • thankyouthankyouuuu, misscupcakees!!! <33 we fiiinally got the liebster post up — sooorry it couldn’t be more in-depth (whitecarrot and i squeezed a bit of time out of our long weekend) but i hope you know how grateful we are for the nomination, and how much we love you!

  6. Don’t close the patch please!! We’ll take what we can get!! But again, do what feels best for you both and if it does lead you to shutter your doors then so be it. Or maybe you could consider leaving some windows open i.e. twitter, or something less taxing? Anyways, be well!

    • thank youuu for the encouragement and the lovely ideas, DDee!!!! it just stinks when i wanna comment and spazz all over your posts but can’t bc of that stinkerbonkers thing called time! xDD but we will keep calm and carry on as long as we can — thanks to wonderful friends like you! ^^ <33

  7. I’m going to chime in as well; please don’t leave us! Even when we don’t hear from you for a while, we never forget you. I was reading an article about Princess Aurora yesterday and thought about you, then BAM! I get a notice of a new post. We understand you both are very busy right now; we’ll wait patiently until you have more free time. Meanwhile, we’re grateful for any time you can spare for us. Wish you both much success!

    • awwww thankyouthankyouuu, Fay!! <333
      man princess aurora… did you ever finish it? 😉 i break out in hives just thinking of it lol. the main triangle seems to have gained at least recognition out of it!
      thanks again for all your love and support <33

  8. Kia ora, Thank you for allowing us to dream and fantasize in a place with like minded souls. This home has brought me many memories of past dramas we all loved and shared, and like all things – they don’t last forever hence we have memories to remember both the good and the bad. So enjoy your walk in the sunshine and sing tunes of happiness, as we will do the same in our little worlds together. Peace love and Soju

    • hehheee yes, ma’am!
      ohmygollies i’m absolutely in LOVE with “can we love”!!! well, i’m in love with my fav couple, but gollies it’s so good! are you rooting for any couple in particular?? :))

    • hihiii, ivoire!! long time no seee!
      i was referring to the scene when do min-joon teleported to the cliff to save song-yi, who was totally calling his bluff hahahaa! ^^ are you enjoying the show? :))

  9. Hai~ I miss your post! 🙂

    I visited this blog soo many times when My Daughter Seo Young airing. Ahh I miss reading your recap! I found your recap kind of different and funny hahaha. And, about Won Bin, omg, I laugh super loud hahaha.

    So, whatever you doing right know, I just wanna tell you that I keep visiting this blog whenever I hungry about k-dramas.

    Fighting! 🙂

  10. it would be very sad for us koreandrama addicts if you would close your patch. your site is sort of a bridge in understanding fully korean drama /culture. the side comments and the recaps are very informative, amusing, entertaining and sincere and i wish to thank you for a job well done. i started reading your patch when my daughter seo young was ongoing. i loved reading your recaps/ comments especially your extensive comments on the previews. you have worked so hard to make your site worth reading.
    meantime, i love watching ,can we love, passionate love, emergency couple, miss korea, woman who married 3 times, a little love never hurts, one warm word, i need romance 3. im done with the heirs, bel ami, etc.
    i wish you have enough time watching dramas and making more reviews/comments. more power to you.

    • divina long time no seeeee!!!! sososooo glad you’re still with us! 😀 😀 😀
      thank youuuu for the sweet words – i’m so glad that you enjoyed “seo-young” and were able to get at least a little bit of extra insight via my crazy ramblings! ^^ man, this brings back fond memories!
      love your drama choices!! i’m hoping to get in some blog time over spring break crosses fingers hehehee! thank youuu again, divina, for stickin’ with us! <33

Share your thoughts!

