Master’s Sun- Ep 1 Thoughts

I’ve been staying away from previews, sneak peaks, and stills, so I don’t have any preconceived notions going in. I really want to LOVE this show so I don’t want to build it up too much then be disappointed later. The first episode was pretty good. It’s not spectacular, but I think it has great potential and is a pretty good set up for whole show.

3

I love 3 out of 4 of the main leads so it is going to be hard for me to hate this show, but then again I think about the nightmare called Big and I’m not so sure. Regardless, I LOVE SO JI-SUB. He’s probably not the best actor around but the character he plays doesn’t really require any skills except looking angry and pissed off all the time. Gong Hyo-jin is adorable and really a natural.

The only flaw is probably that I keep seeing her Pasta and Best Love character in this acting. She always has a few frivolous scenes in all her dramas when she plays that “shy” girl, and in all honesty it’s pretty awkward. Here it occurs with Seo In-guk and their first meeting scene. She literally “meows” to him. Awkward much? Speaking of Seo In-guk, how much weight this this guy lose? His chin is way too sharp and thin! However, I’m not complaining about his buff arms.

1

The ghosts are kind of scary, but it’s an over-exagerrated type of CGI so that I’m cognizant it’s fake, so therefore I’m not as scared. It’s hard to explain. I have little logic in my life. The spooky and funny dynamic reminds me of Arang and the Magistrate. The comedy really did it for me. Taeyang is constantly grabbing/ petting/ squeezing/ falling asleep on Joogun. I literally laugh my head off at all of these actions. It’s really a great excuse for OTP skinship.

5

I’m really looking forward to the progression of their relationship and seeing if Joogun can get a personality change. He’s kinda of annoyingly generic in that he is an angry chaebol with a dark past (his gf was blown up)/ personal hardship (he is dyslexic?)/ bad personality (again refer to angry). On the other hand, Taeyang is still a sweetheart. I genuinely want to see her get some sleep and put on some clothes that don’t look like frigging nightgowns.

2

It seems like the storytelling format will involve the overarching plot line involving Taeyang’s ghost-seeing problem and Joogun past/personality issues and their love story. In addition, Taeyang’s ghost problem will also lead her to help ghosts pass on their dying message to their loved ones. In this episode alone she has helped 3 ghosts alone. I wonder if this number will be increasing in each episode. Either way, please continue to be good Master’s Sun!

4

Bring it on, episode 2!

12 responses to “Master’s Sun- Ep 1 Thoughts

  1. yay…i like it!!! we dont ever mention “that other drama by the hong sisters”…what a disaster…

    i have also noticed that i like seo in gook’s eyes like i like lee jong suk’s eyes…so i really do not see any part of them except for the eyes.. i think…

  2. This is my one and only dip into Master’s Sun until it’s finished and marathon-able (first episodes are my one “spoiler” allowance) and I’m glad to hear it’s so-far, so-good. πŸ™‚

    I hope the good feelings continue! πŸ˜€

  3. It wasn’t as scary in Who are you ghost but I love their acting I feel their chemistry. i watched greatest love and its so good too gonh hyo jin is excellent and very natural in her acting skills yay saw the ep2 its good too now cant wait for the next e next week

    • what do you think of Who are You? I’m dont really want to get into too many current dramas. I hate waiting for episodes to come out.

Share your thoughts!

