Flower Boy Next Door: First Impressions

Cable channel tvN premiered its third installment of the Flower Boy ‘series’ this week with Flower Boy Next Door, or Flower Boy Neighbor, and boy did it live up to its name.  Talk about flowery, flowerness, and flowerment.

이웃집 꽃미남01_003

 

The Basics

Go Dok-mi (Park Shin-hye) is our Peeping Tommy – does Tommy at least sound unisex? – and sufferer of unrequited love.  Her love interest, Han Tae-joon (Kim Jeong-san), has noooo idea that Dok-mi has his daily schedule memorized to the point where she sets her alarm to wake minutes before he does.  Uh, creeps much?  But, of course, we can’t lock her away in the Creepers Ward because she’s just so darned sweet.  Delusional, yes, but innocently naïve and kindhearted and demure and just all around fluff ball.  She’s an editor who makes just enough to eke by, and she is a master of conservation — even the greenest environmentalists will have a hard time matching her.이웃집 꽃미남01_001 이웃집 꽃미남01_002이웃집 꽃미남01_019

If we’ve got a sweet little thing, we’ve gotta have a rascally little one as well, no?  That role is filled by Enrique Geum (Yoon Shi-yoon), ultimate flower boy: he’s not only got the pretty goin’, he’s a brilliant game developer and gamer wubbed by all.  He’s just so full of energy, it’s amazing anyone can keep up.  Then again, it doesn’t seem like anyone has done so successfully…  But I digress.  Enrique does have one similarity with Dok-mi: unrequited love.  He loves Yoon Seo-young (Kim Yoon-hye), but he’s very much aware that she… likes Han Tae-joon.  Yes, Dok-mi’s Tae-joon.  And the guy Enrique calls “Hyung” aka Big Brother aka close enough to crash at his place and catch Dok-mi spying.  Talk about embarrassing.이웃집 꽃미남01_004이웃집 꽃미남01_009이웃집 꽃미남01_012 이웃집 꽃미남01_013 이웃집 꽃미남01_014 이웃집 꽃미남01_015 이웃집 꽃미남01_016 이웃집 꽃미남01_017

Now, a drama cannot be complete without setting a trap for poor pinkblossom: the wonderful guy who totes deserves but prolly won’t get the girl.  (Exception: Feast of the Gods)  That man is none other than shmexy Oh Jin-rak (Kim Ji-hoon), a webtoon artist who lives in the unit next to Dok-mi’s.  He seems to instinctively understand Dok-mi’s sensitive and introspective nature, and I fear my heart is already in this camp.  Jin-rak and his buddy Yoo Dong-hoon (Go Kyung-pyo) have a little issue with Enrique, and it has nothing to do with future love rival showdowns: their webtoon Zombie Soccer is being accused of plagiarizing Enrique’s video game.  Fun times.  In a last-ditch attempt to save his webtoon, Jin-rak tells the editor that their story, Flower Boy Next Door, will be a “real melo” about the everyday life of a girl.  Iiiinteresting. 이웃집 꽃미남01_006 이웃집 꽃미남01_007이웃집 꽃미남01_005 이웃집 꽃미남01_008이웃집 꽃미남01_020이웃집 꽃미남01_010

Adding to the flower boy pool is Dok-mi’s new neighbor Watanabe Ryu (Mizuta Kouki), a sweetie with a sweet tooth.  You sure know the way to my heart!이웃집 꽃미남01_011

 

Thoughts

pinkblossom: When can I move in?  This show is for seriously so full of the purty, I don’t know whom to stare at and goggle over.  Note to director: one person at a time, please.

I’ll be frank and admit that I wasn’t absitively dying to watch this one.  I never finished Flower Boy Ramyun Shop, and I didn’t even start Shut Up Flower Boy Band.  Yes, I like Park Shin-hye and was pleasantly surprised by Yoon Shi-yoon’s growth as an actor in the five minutes of Me Too Flower I watched, but they aren’t necessarily at the top of my must-watch list.  Rom-coms are always welcome, but I’m not too familiar with the whole webtoon world of Korea.  Simply put, I tuned in because I was mostly curious and needed something to fill the gaping Mon-Tues void left by The King of Dramas.

Perhaps it’s because I’m still struggling to let go of The King of Dramas, but Flower Boy Next Door… didn’t quite do it for me today.  It’s definitely cute and upbeat and wacky, and I wonder if I’d love it more if I was a little younger…  But to be fair, it’s only been one episode, and most of it was spent introducing the characters and establishing their world.  I defs wasn’t turned off, that’s for sure, and I’m holding out hope that things will click with the pinkblossom meter as we start getting into the story proper.  That being said, I’ll withhold judgment until I get a proper taste – it’s too early to jump off the fence just yet!

whitecarrot: Hmm this show makes me a little creeped out. Peeping Tommy? I get 1 sided-love, staring at a guy from across a classroom, or hiding and watching him practice sports from across the gym. But BINOCULARS to watch him 24 hrs a day and memorizing his whole schedule? Then doing said schedule with him across an apartment complex. This girl is a STALKER. 100% law-breaker, creeper. I don’t care if she look like an angel. She’s creepy! I can’t relate!!!

I loved Yoon Shi-yoon in King of Baking, Kim Tak-gu. But I haven’t watched his other shows just yet. They just don’t get me hooked. I totally agree with pinkblossom, the Flower Boy Series isn’t something I’ve had an overwhelming interest in. I loved the first few episodes of Flower Boy Ramen Shop but quickly grew tired of the dragging back and forth between the lead characters. Plus I was rooting for the 2nd male lead (always the fatal error). Anyway back to this story.

Plotwise:

1. creepy stalker girl = turn off

2. pretty flower boys (all 4 or 5) = turn on!

I love Yoon Shi-yoon’s character, and the way he plays it. I can literally feel his energy flowing off-screen.  Let’s see how many episodes this flower boy can make me watch…

 

이웃집 꽃미남01_018

 

What did you think of Episode 1?  Please share with us!

8 responses to “Flower Boy Next Door: First Impressions

  1. It’s hard not to love Park Shin Hye, no matter how much of a creepy stalker she may be. Especially because I suspect I’m going to creepily stalk this show in very much the same way she creepily stalks her next-door neighbor: full bore. Nice intro to the show (especially all those picture of topless Yoon Si Yoon!).

    • hi, Amanda!!! welcome weeelcome to our humble abode! 😀 i’ve got to agree, i’m afraid i’m gonna be reduced to creeper pinkblossom peeper-ing if things continue along their current trajectory 😉 glad you like the photos! 😉 😉 heheheheee
      thanks for joining us, and thank you again for keeping me in tickles this past year! i’ll be creeper peeper-ing your blog! ^^

  2. It’s true that King Of Dramas left a pretty huge spot left there… in spite of that Yawang/ Queen Of Ambition is starting off pretty well with Su Ae and Sang Woo playing the leads. A bit melo but way better than I Miss You. School 2013 is always there to fill in the gaps and give me all the feels, happy or sad. Flower Boy is something that is hilarious and fun, however it leaves you just there; not a level higher or lower. I would like to love this show with all my heart…. even so…. there’s something t missing :O

    • i loooove su ae, but i’m scared to get into “yawang”… it just seems like it’ll require a LOT from me, and i don’t know if i can do it xD hahahaa! i have “school 2013” on my list as well!
      but yes, you really hit it on the spot about “flower boy” — i laugh a lot while watching it, and i enjoy each episode… but i don’t feel a burning need to watch the next one. i don’t know what it is… -___-;;

  3. B..bb..but i really like this show! 🙂
    Perhaps ever since Queen In-Hyun’s Man and Reply 1997, I have invested a lot of faith in tVN’s dramas. While Queen In Hyun’s man did well with the time-travel mechanisms and heart-breaking scenes where they got separated, Reply1997 resonated with many for its adolescent trials and caused people to be reminiscent of their teenage days, and it doesn’t even matter which country or generation you really came from.

    Flower Boy Next Door might come off as weird at first. I mean, who could relate to stalking activities across your apartment? Even when i get a good view at the person living across, I feel invasive to even take a second look. So yeah, it does definitely give the creeps. Then we have resident sunshine boy Enrique (Yoon Shi Yoon) who is so awesome at acting a hyperactive man-child, we can’t help but to look to him and feel: “Awww! you want some candy?”

    Flower Boy Next Door may have presented a line of weird characters, with starkly odd characteristics. But when you take a good, close look at them, they are in fact very real and layered. (At least to me!) (Refer to this psychology geek who applies psychology to the drama and its characters. Nothing gets as awesome as this! http://radio-palava.tumblr.com/post/40903163120/myers-briggs-dichotomies-in-flower-boy-next-door)

    I have found quite a number of people in the online community, who are very invested in this drama more than I am, and this excites me beyond words.

    I confess that the previous Flower Boy series may have been ehhhhh~
    I watched Flower Boy Ramyun Shop and I felt that it kinda fell flat somewhere in the first half but it was bearable till the end. It wasn’t terrible but it just wasn’t that good, as some may find it to be. As for Shut Up Flower Boy Band, I have been reading the recaps and a little like Reply1997, it tends to make people reminiscent of their teenage years at high school and the close-knitted group of friends whom you practically do everything with and they make up almost every part of your memory.

    Hope you guys will like FBND too! ^^

    • hi hiii, musewb! 🙂 🙂
      i know i knoooow it’s just so hard with this one -___-;; as i mentioned at the end of the ep 2 mini-recap, i can’t deny that it’s a very well-thought-out, well-written, and well-acted drama. i laugh — out loud! — while watching, and each episode just flies by. seriously, i’m always surprised by how quickly the time passes.
      intellectually, i see that there is a lot of depth to the characters, and i appreciate the study of human nature they’re doing… but for some reason, i just can’t get emotionally attached. i don’t feel the need/desire to watch the next episode… and it’s driving me nuts. heeelp! xD
      thank you for the link — i reaaaally enjoyed the read! and yes, i hope that somehow i’ll be able to hop back on this one. it just seems too good to let go, but i don’t know hoooow to get back on xDDD

    • hi, Beata! a belated welcome to our Patch! 😀
      unfortunately, i’m not familiar with the artist in the show… 😦 but if i do come across it, i’ll let you know! 🙂

Share your thoughts!

