To the Beautiful You: First Impressions

Well hellooo, there, cutie!

I was feelin’ the mood for something silly and fluffy, so I checked out the new idol-ridden drama To the Beautiful You last week.  I didn’t have too many expectations going into it, so I was neither disappointed nor wildly shocked, but I will admit I was pleasantly diverted for a good two hours.  It is, as expected, full of the pretty – both girls and guys – and the world is bright and colorful.  There are a few moments here and there of… ah… pretentiousness, but the earnestness defs makes up for it.  Overall, it’s sweet and harmless, so I ain’t gettin’ my panties in a wad!

Basic plotline of the first two episodes: Kang Tae-joon (Min-ho) is a gifted high-jumper who suffers an injury and is now attempting to recover both physically and mentally.  When you get to this level of competition, it’s more of a mind game than a physical one~  He’s a prickly one – is there ever a gifted Kdrama hero who’s NOT prickly?! – with some major daddy issues.  Go figure.  Goo Jae-hee (Sulli) has some kind of debt she feels the need to repay to Tae-jun, so she hacks off all her glorious hair to enter the elite male high school chock full of cuties and hotties.  She ends up becoming Tae-joon’s roommie, and from there, you can only imagine all the trouble these kids are gonna get into.  There’s the requisite second female lead, Seol Hanna (Kim Ji-won), who want Tae-joon.  And the second male lead, Cha Eun-kyul (Lee Hyun-woo), who’s gonna break everyone’s hearts with his puppy eyes and single-minded devotion to Jae-hee.

I’ve always had a soft spot for idol group SHINee (long story that I won’t go into today), and Sulli of f(x) is adorable, so I was curious to see how they’d be together.  Acting-wise, nothing too cringe-inducing, which is always a good sign.  But every ten minutes or so, I feel… weird, because they’re so young!  And the SM Entertainment artists are like a family, so I get the odd feeling I’m watching two siblings pretending to fall in love…  Strange, I know.  I mean, I have nooo problem shipping the other SM artists in the various fan-made couples, but these two…  I think it’s just the age thing.  Sigh.  I’m feelin’ old.

Anyhoo, the point I was trying to make before I got lost in the jumble of thoughts, was that I initially watched this drama because of Min-ho and Sulli.  But THAT motivation is now loooong gone.  Thanks to none other than cutie cutie cutie Lee Hyun-woo!!  And by cutie, I mean baby cute.  That way, I feel less pervy about this.  But for seriously, he’s so adorable!  Eeee!

This boy’s already killing noona fans across the globe with just two episodes.  I’m defs gonna be tuning in for him this week! 🙂

 

What did you think of the first week of To the Beautiful You?  We’d love to have you share your thoughts below!

 

RELATED POSTS
Share your thoughts!

